Full Disclosure

The primary commitment in any marriage is a commitment to the growth of the soul in myself and in my partner which, in my ideal marriage, are closer to being as one – closer to recognizing our oneness – than in any other relationship in my life.

And growth starts with disclosing who we are. My sacred obligation is to take off all my masks and tell you who I am. Yours is to tell me who you are. We can’t drag it out of each other – at least not without producing misunderstandings and resentments.

We must also understand that we are, both of us, dynamic works-in-progress who have changed over the years. Perhaps we have an inner core, so to speak, that hasn’t changed much but most of the rest of us does. We can each be whoever we want to be.

To be known by another person is a joy.

Leave a Reply

